RBI Governor List Updated 2018 - Banking Awareness

Reserve Bank of India was established in the year 1935 by the British Government. So far 24 people have worked as RBI Governor of India. Prime Minister Office appoints RBI Governor of India. Based on the work efficiency the tenure may be extended. The Present Governor of RBI is Urjit Patel, he took charge on 4th Sep 2016 and acting till date. C.D. Deshmukh was the first Governor of RBI (Reserve Bank of India), who took charge on 11th August 1943. RBI Governor List was provided below for the benefit of the candidates.